Skip to content


Hershel withCar  —  June 15, 2009H with car 2

H with Car

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Temporary Help permalink
    June 11, 2009 2:42 am

    Thanks for including me as I would not miss this deal for anything!!

  2. July 5, 2009 9:42 pm

    Hershel’s original Nascar number and this years points leader…

    How NASCAR allocates car numbers
    NASCAR owns and assigns car numbers and licenses them to teams on an annual basis. Teams do not own the numbers. Teams submit to NASCAR requests for a car number.

    Depending upon availability, that number is issued via an owner’s license, which is good for a year. However, one team may allow another team to use the number with NASCAR’s approval. For administrative purposes, the official car number may be a three-digit number, however on the car only two digits are displayed (a 100 and 200 would both display as 00). If there is a conflict at any given time, by general procedure, the team submitting an entry form last would have to pick an alternate display number.

    Generally, if a team has been using a number that number is re-issued to the same team. If a team relinquishes a number, it reverts back to NASCAR.

    No. 14 — Tony Stewart looked to his motorsports hero, A.J. Foyt, for the number of his newly formed Stewart-Haas Racing. Used 843 times in Cup history, No. 14 has not been employed since Ginn Motorsports merged with Dale Earnhardt Inc. in July 2007. Sterling Marlin chose No. 14 when he signed with Ginn in 2006, primarily as a tribute to his father Coo Coo Marlin, who ran the number on the circuit from 1972 through mid-1979. In between the two Marlin stints in the No. 14, Foyt drove under the number as owner/driver from 1983 through 1990. Billy Hagan then put Terry Labonte and Andretti in his No. 14 before Foyt returned with Rick Mast in 2000. Ron Hornaday Jr., Stacy Compton, Mike Wallace and Foyt’s grandson Larry were the primary drivers for Foyt through 2004. Greg Pollex revived the number late in 2004 with Andretti as the driver while DEI and Mark Simo also used 14 sporadically in the late 1990s. Prior to Coo Coo Marlin, Fonty Flock, Herschel McGriff, Billy Myers, Jim Paschal and Bobby Allison were among the drivers of the No. 14. Flock (14), McGriff (four), Paschal (seven) and Allison (one) accounted for the 26 wins.

  3. Temporary Help permalink
    July 9, 2009 2:33 am

    Good Luck with the testing–Due to all the rule changes, It should be noted the work that was done to transform the car from what it was to what it is, was SIMPLY AMAZING. I have gained a new respect for what it takes to build one!(Somebody should have taken some photos)!!!!
    Anyone who knows will appreciate the craftmanship. My hat is off to J.R.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: